



Visit Bastrop Board Meeting

Bastrop Chamber of Commerce 927 Main St. Bastrop, TX 78602

Thursday, May 16, 2024, 8:30 a.m.

The Visit Bastrop Board of Directors convened a meeting on May 16, 2024, at 8:30 a.m. The following voting Board members who were Present = (X), Zoom = (Z), Absent (A):

Lee Harle (X) Kerry Fossler (X) Amy Bailey (A) Irby Morvant (A) Robert Kraft (A) Shawn Anthea Pletsch (X) Harrison Wood (X) Jane Hunt (X)

Ex officio members: Becki Womble (A), Kathy Danielson (A)

Staff/guests: Ashton LaFuente (X), Cherry Kay Abel (A), Megan Garcia (A), Stephanie Doradea (A), Councilmember Cynthia Meyer (X), Councilmember Kevin Plunkett (X), Gregg Kronenberger (Z), Jennifer Long (X), Main Street Manager Michaela (X), Andy Weir (X)

*Kerry Fossler was present but chose to abstain from conversation and voting due to her new position with City Council.

I. CALL TO ORDER – Lee Harle

Lee Harle called the meeting to order at 8:35 a.m.

II. CONSENT AGENDA – Lee Harle

Shawn Anthea-Pletsch made a motion to approve the consent agenda. The motion was seconded by Harrison Wood and unanimously approved.

III. EXECUTIVE SESSION – Lee Harle

A motion was made to go into executive session at 8:40 a.m. to discuss the City's Audit update. The motion was seconded and unanimously approved.

A motion was made to move out of executive session at 9:13 a.m. It was seconded and unanimously approved.

Harrison Wood made a motion that the decision made by the Board at the September 21, 2023, meeting to terminate Susan Smith's employment agreement without "good cause" as defined in the agreement be amended to with "good cause." Whereas at the time of the Board's decision, it was not aware of the full extent of Ms. Smith's conduct. Based on the information that the Board has learned since its decision; the Board finds that "good cause" exists for Ms. Smith's termination. The motion was seconded by Jane Hunt and unanimously approved.

IV. BOARD MEMBER RESIGNATION OF KERRY FOSSLER – Lee Harle

Lee Harle acknowledged the dedication and contribution during Kerry Fossler's term. Kerry Fossler is unable to continue her service to the Visit Bastrop board due to her new role as city councilperson.

V. NOMINATING COMMITTEE UPDATE – Lee Harle

Becki Womble, Lee Harle, Amy Bailey, and Ashton LaFuente form the new Nominating Committee. A new digital and fillable application has been created. This form will be sent out on Monday, May 20, 2024. New board members will be elected during the July board meeting.

VI. ADJOURN

A motion was made to adjourn the meeting of May 16, 2024, at 10:03 a.m.

Minutes recorded by Ashton LaFuente, May 16, 2024