

## MINUTES: 69<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting and Installation of Officers and Directors Thursday, July 19, 2018 6:00pm-9:00pm

At 6:30pm a quorum was established and discussion was held on New Year's Eve 2018 and the use of The Perfect Event to provide musicians, etc. Luttjohann asked board members to approve The Perfect Event as the supplier of entertainment for NYE with the amount not to exceed \$14,500. Motion for approval by Ponce, second Kielpinski. Passed unanimously. Adjourned at 6:45pm.

7:34pm Jim Luttjohann opened the program for evening and gave thanks to Sana Hernandez of the Metropole Marketplace and Kathleen Vojkovich-Bombard from M Restaurant by Zest Catering for the space and meal. He also thanked Councilmember/Mayor ProTem Cinde MacGugan-Cassidy for her attendance. Luttjohann stated that he is blessed to live on the island and have the good fortune to work with a staff that goes above and beyond. He asked the staff members of the Catalina Island Chamber of Commerce & Visitors Bureau to stand for recognition.

The event began at 6pm and a monitor presentation featured facts pertinent to the 2017-18 fiscal year of the Catalina Island Chamber of Commerce & Visitors Bureau. Attendees paying attention to that display had an advantage when Luttjohann delivered the trivia quiz. Michelle Warner and Amelia Lincoln passed out quiz answer forms and pencils to each guest. Luttjohann asked 10 questions relating to either Catalina Island visitors or Chamber of Commerce work. After the answers were reviewed, Zach Thomas from Island Spa won the tie-breaker question for the top prize of the evening. Nicole Hohenstein of Holiday Inn Resort and Angela Puchala from Catalina Express were second and third place winners.

Bryce Noll & Julie Bovay announced the Harvey Cowell Award for 2017-18 was won by the Catalina Island Museum. Gail Fornasiere accepted the award on the behalf of the museum. Luttjohann noted the Chihuly glass exhibit at the Catalina Island Museum last year was quite a draw for visitors. This was one reason voters wished to recognize the museum with the award.

Acknowledgement of outgoing board members: Julie Bovay as the outgoing chair announced she was glad to be chair and glad to pass the job on to Gail Fornasiere. Mark Costello was not present to receive his certificate as his term was complete. Also not present was Buddy Wilson, Jr. who will no longer be on the executive committee, but will remain on the board.

Incoming officers comprising the executive committee were asked to approach the podium. The new officers are Gail Fornasiere, chair; Julie Bovay, past chair; Dave Howell-Awalt, chief financial officer; Michael Ponce, chair-elect; Dave Stevenson, marketing chair (absent). Nicole Hohenstein was announced as new to the board of directors for the 2018-19 fiscal year.

The attendance of past board chairs Catrina Maxin-Awalt, Dave Howell-Awalt and Rock Gosselin was applauded. Luttjohann requested Julie Bovay's return to podium. He presented a gift of celebration to acknowledge her service as chair.

The winner of the drawing for two Mixer passes was Kris Wallace of Aurora Hotel. Before closing, Luttjohann asked for all board members both current and past to please stand and expressed appreciation to them.

At 8:16pm awards and recognitions concluded and the facility was available until 9:00pm.