FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Wednesday, March 29, 2023

**NEWS RELEASE** 

MEDIA CONTACT Aaron King Assistant Director of Championships and Alliances 317-917-6771

## NATIONAL COLLEGIATE WOMEN'S BOWLING CHAMPIONSHIP FIELD ANNOUNCED

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Women's Bowling Committee announced today the 17 teams vying for the 2023 National Collegiate Women's Bowling Championship. Nine conference teams have been granted automatic qualification, with the remaining teams being selected at-large. The following conferences and their representatives received an automatic qualification:

Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association College Conference of Illinois & Wisconsin East Coast Conference Great Lakes Valley Conference Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference Northeast Conference Southland Conference Southwestern Athletic Conference Medaille University Fayetteville State University Carthage College Mercyhurst University McKendree University North Carolina A&T State University Sacred Heart University Arkansas State University Prairie View A&M University

The remaining eight teams that were selected at-large (listed alphabetically) include: Duquesne University, Louisiana Tech University, Maryville University of Saint Louis, University of Nebraska, Lincoln, Sam Houston State University, Stephen F. Austin State University, Vanderbilt University and Youngstown State University.

The 2023 National Collegiate Women's Bowling Championship will have regional competition at four predetermined sites April 6-8. The winner of each regional will advance to the NCAA championship. The championship matches will be played April 14-15 at South Point Bowling Plaza in Las Vegas, Nevada. The University of Nevada, Las Vegas and the Las Vegas Convention and Visitors Authority are the hosts.

NCAA NEWS RELEASE Wednesday, March 29, 2023 Page No. 2

All regionals are double elimination except for the play-in match at the five-team regional which will be single elimination. Each round will consist of teams competing in a best-of-three match format, bowled in the following order: five-person team match; Baker total pin fall; and best-of-seven Baker match play. Regional competition will conclude with one team from each regional bracket advancing to compete in the championship. The champion will be determined using a best-of-seven Baker match play. The championship final will air at 9 p.m. Eastern time, Saturday, April 15 on ESPNU.

For more information about the National Collegiate Women's Bowling Championship, log on to <u>www.ncaa.com</u>.

AK:lh