56TH ANNUAL TEXAS LEGISLATIVE CONFERENCE

> The Greater New Braunfels Chamber of Commerce, Inc. **Co-Sponsors** Accenture · CEMEX · CenterPoint Energy Guadalupe Blanco River Authority • Texas Water Supply Co.

March 24-25, 2022

U.S. CONGRESSMAN KEVIN BRADY NAMED 2022 TEXAN OF THE YEAR BY **TEXAS LEGISLATIVE CONFERENCE**

NEW BRAUNFELS, Texas – U.S. Congressman Kevin Brady has been named the 2022 Texan of the Year by the Texas Legislative Conference, the well-known annual statewide policy and business forum that is marking its 56th year.

The Texas Legislative Conference is a nonpartisan organization of Texas business and political leaders who meet annually in New Braunfels to focus on public policy issues. This year's panels will focus on the supply chain, workforce and job creation, the Texas primaries and redistricting.

Brady will be honored March 24 at the New Braunfels Civic/Convention Center. He will join an array of prominent past honorees since 1974 that includes presidents, U.S. senators, entertainers, governors and business icons.

"As a former chamber executive and distinguished member of the United States House of Representatives, Congressman Brady is extraordinarily deserving of this honor," said Conference Chair Patrick Rose of Corridor Title. "Texas benefits from a history of Ways & Means Committee stewardship, and a 55-year legacy of leadership on the committee that started with former President George H.W. Bush and continued with Bill Archer and now Kevin Brady. We very much look forward to bestowing this distinguished honor on such a deserving recipient."

Brady is the U.S. Representative for Texas's Eighth Congressional District, currently serving his 13th term since 1997. He is recognized for his tireless efforts as a national economic leader and is only the third Texan in history to chair the House Ways & Means Committee, which has control over taxes, international trade, health care, Medicare, Social Security and welfare.

Brady led the effort to pass the historic Tax Cuts and Job Act, the first comprehensive overhaul of America's tax system in more than 30 years. Additionally, he has helped secure passage of 13 of America's 15 free trade agreements, negotiated an end to the 40-year ban on selling U.S. crude oil overseas, eliminated the ObamaCare individual mandate and more.

"Thank you so much for this honor, it really is remarkable," said Brady. "This legislative conference is iconic in Texas. It's where people who want to find solutions come together and have for more than half a century. For our state especially, the Texas Legislative Conference plays a huge role, which is another reason I'm honored to be Texan of the Year for 2022."

> P.O. Box 311417 • New Braunfels, Texas 78131-1417 (830) 625-2385 · FAX (830) 625-7918 · E-mail: tlc@innewbraunfels.com

ADVISORY COMMITTEE

PATRICK ROSE, Conference Chair Former Texas State Representative

DIANE RATH. Conference Vice Chair ents (AACOG) amo Area Council of Govern

JONATHAN ANDREWS Accenture

HOWARD BAKER Greater Texas Credit Union TRAY BATES, Vice President

KYLE BIEDERMANN Texas State Representative

DONNA CAMPBELL. Texas State Senator

TAL R. CENTERS, JR., Regional Vice President - Texas CenterPoint Energy

DAVID DRASTATA, Market Manager Walmart

KATHLEEN GARCIA. VP of Government Relations

ROBERT HOWDEN exans for Economic Progress

JOHN KUEMPEL, Texas State Representative

KEVIN MEIER Texas Water Supply Co. DOUG MILLER

Miller & Miller Insurance Agency Former Texas State Representat ontativo

KEVIN PATTESON, General Manager GBRA

RAY PERRYMAN, President & CEO The Perryman Group

JIMMY RABON, Regional Vice President CEME>

JASON REED, Vice President of Operations Martin Marietta

CARLTON SCHWAB. President & CEO Texas Economic Develop ment Counc

HEMANT SEHGAL, Vice President

JOHN SHARP. Chancellor The Texas A&M University System

DENISE TRAUTH, Ph.D., President Texas State University

JEFF WENTWORTH Former Texas S e Senator

WILLIAM YARNELL nebarger Goggan Blair & Sampson LLP

ARRANGEMENTS COMMITTEE NATALIE ROUGEUX, ELIZABETH JOOST

SHERMAN KRAUSE

GERRI LAWING

JAMES LOVETT

MIKE MAXWELL

MICHAEL MEEK

JONATHAN PACKER KABI MEYEB

MARK LEITA

GREG LUTZ

IAN TAYLOR

CHUCK TEETER

DIB WALDRIP BARRY WILLIAMS

SHANE WOLF

Arrangements Chair
WES STUDDARD, Arrangements Vice Chair
ALYSSA COKER, Program Director
MARIAN BENSON
BENNIE BOCK
BRUCE BOYER
CARTER CASTEEL
KATHRYN DEBERJEOIS
KYLE DICKE
DANIEL GONZALEZ
MARK HAMPTON
SUSAN HEIDRICH
ALLISON HUMPHRIES
ROB JOHNSON

Prior to his election, Congressman Brady worked as a chamber of commerce executive for 18 years, serving six years in the Texas House of Representatives during that time. Today, Brady lives in The Woodlands with his wife and two sons, commuting from Texas to Washington for his congressional duties.

"If you are going to be traveling away from your family every week, you want to be involved in something that's important," Brady said. "I've really been blessed to get that opportunity."

For more information visit www.TXLegislativeConference.com.

###

Contact: Alyssa Coker, Conference Program Director (830) 625-2385 or <u>Alyssa@InNewBraunfels.com</u> www.TXLegislativeConference.com