

Chair: Juanita Taurman

Vice-Chair: John Bourdon

**Terms of Office:** Two years from date of appointment

Members: Seven

**Who Appoints:** Board of County Commissioners (BOCC) shall appoint members.

Vacancies filled by: Board of County Commissioners

**Compensation:** None

Meetings: Bi-Monthly

**Staff Contact:** Michael Cordier / Office Manager / (360) 704-7544 Michael@ExperienceOlympia.com
Shauna Stewart / Executive Director

### I. Committee Duties:

- **a.** The committee makes recommendations to the Board of County Commissioners (BOCC) regarding agritourism in Thurston County including but not limited to the Agritourism Overlay District and the Thurston Bountiful Byway.
- **b.** The committee will work with the Olympia Lacey Tumwater Visitor and Convention Bureau ("OLTVCB") to develop a Marketing Plan for the Thurston Bountiful Byway.
- c. The committee may review applications from interested businesses, nonprofit organizations, or governmental entities (businesses) for membership in the Thurston Bountiful Byway Map and Marketing Plan. The committee will recommend to the OLTVCB, by majority vote, qualifying businesses for membership in the Byway Marketing Plan based on the criteria below, and in TCC 20.08G Agritourism Overlay District:
  - i. Does the use or activity of the business promote locally grown & produced agricultural products, goods, & services; and



- ii. Does the use or activity of the business emphasize local rural and agricultural attributes such as local specialty crops, farming and rural culture, native and natural resources, local history, local food networks and relationships, and other elements which highlight the importance of local agriculture; or
- iii. Does the use or activity of the business entice visitors who could see and experience the value of local agricultural lands to the culture and economy of rural Thurston County and who may purchase locally grown and produced agricultural products, goods and services. These uses are not necessarily directly related to agriculture but could help support the rural and agricultural economy by drawing visitors.
- d. The committee will provide a list of recommended and qualifying businesses to the OLTVCB.
- **II. Qualifications of Board members:** Membership is open to the public. Interested parties may include agritourism business owners, economic development agencies, ecotourism agencies, farmers, tourism agencies, etc. No member of the Thurston County Board of Commissioners shall participate on this committee.
- III. Meetings Open to the Public. All meetings of the Agritourism Advisory Committee shall be open to the public and subject to the Open Public Meeting Act (OPMA). Each member of the committee shall receive OPMA training before voting on ay matters before it.



#### **CURRENT BOARD MEMBERS**

1) Nathan Allan

1431 11<sup>th</sup> Ave SE Olympia, WA 98501 Home: 360-753-9123

Cell: 360-489-7753 Email: nathan@swantowninn.com

Date appointed: 01/28/20 Date current term expires: January 2022

2) John Bourdon

842 Wright RD SE Tenino, WA 98589 Home: 360-264-4894

Cell: 360-239-7272 Email: john@sandstonedistillery.com
Date appointed: 12/01/15 Date current term expires: January 2021

3) Robby Rutledge

302 93rd Ave SE Olympia, WA 98501

Home: 253-722-4119 E-mail: robby@rutledgecornmaze.com

Date Appointed: 11/27/2018 Date current term expires: December 2020

4) George Sharp

4220 6<sup>th</sup> Avenue SE, Lacey, WA 98503

Lacey, WA 98503

Main Office: 360-754-6320 Direct: 360464-6043 E-mail: <a href="mailto:gsharp@thurstonedc.com">gsharp@thurstonedc.com</a>
Date appointed: 10/19/2017 Date current term expires: September 2021



E-mail: juanitataurman@whca.orgf

Date current term expires: January 2021

5) Juanita Taurman

8542 Rhondo Ct SW Olympia, WA 98512 Home: 360-705-3446

Cell: 360-870-3813

Date appointed: 12/01/15

6) Open Seat

7) Open Seat