RECORD OF MINUTES DARE COUNTY TOURISM BOARD

LONG-RANGE TOURISM MANAGEMENT PLAN SPECIAL COMMITTEE WEDNESDAY, APRIL 10, 2024

9:15 A.M.

OUTER BANKS VISITORS BUREAU ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICES MANTEO, NC 27954

ATTENDING: Dennis Robinson, Chair; Jessica Barnes, Tim Cafferty, Shannon Castillo, Jamie Chisholm, Reide Corbett, Donna Creef, Augusta Feldmann, Mary Helen Goodloe-Murphy, Nick Graham, Dave Hallac, Natalie Kavanagh, Elizabeth Morey, Lee Nettles, Bobby Outten, Mike Remige, Chris Sawin, and Ronnie Sloan.

EXCUSED ABSENCE: Mark Ballog, Karen Brown, Tim Sweeney, and Chris Vlahos.

STAFF:

Jeff Schwartzenberg, Community Engagement Manager Amy Wood, Clerk to the Board/Administrative Specialist Diane Bognich, Director of Administration Lorrie Love, Tourism Sales and Events Manager

OTHERS ATTENDING:

The meeting was called to order at 9:15 a.m.

Jeff Schwartzenberg reviewed community engagement efforts over the past month.

Jeff Schwartzenberg shared a revised draft of the Outer Banks Pledge and shared the jingle encouraging people to make the promise. The Committee reviewed and discussed the changes. Following discussion, the Committee reached consensus to forward the promise to the Tourism Board for their approval.

The Committee split into two groups to discuss and suggest ways to work on Strategies 2 [Adopt an integrated Approach to Improving Environmental Stewardship] and 3 [Support Infrastructure Development that Benefits the Vitality of the Community for Residents and Visitors].

COMMITTEE MEMBER UPDATES: Bobby Outten gave a brief update on the Housing Task Force meeting. Dave Hallac briefed the Committee on the clean up efforts at Buxton Beach. Reide Corbett invited the Committee members to the open house (April 20) and film (April 22) at Coastal Studies Institute. Lee Nettles noted recent Tourism Board/Visitor Bureau Event Grant Awards.

SET DATE, TIME, AND PLACE OF NEXT MEETING: The next meeting will be Wednesday, May 8, 2024 at 9:15 a.m.

The Chair asked if there was any further business before the Board. Hearing none, the Chair adjourned the meeting at 11:01 a.m.

ATTESTED:

Amy S. Wood
Clerk, Dare County Tourism Board

1