RECORD OF MINUTES DARE COUNTY TOURISM BOARD THURSDAY, JANUARY 19, 2023 9:00 A.M.

OUTER BANKS VISITORS BUREAU ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICES MANTEO, NC 27954

ATTENDING:

Mark Ballog, Ervin Bateman, Gray Berryman, Tim Cafferty, Tod Clissold, Tonia Cohen, Richard Hess, David Hines, Leo Holland, Ivy Ingram, Dennis Robinson, and Jay Wheless, Legal Counsel.

EXCUSED ABSENCE: Mike Siers and Monica Thibodeau.

STAFF:

Lee Nettles, Executive Director
Diane Bognich, Director of Administration
Amy Wood, Clerk to the Board/Administrative Specialist
Lorrie Love, Tourism Sales and Events Manager
Aaron Tuell, Public Relations Manager

OTHERS ATTENDING:

Philip Ruckle, The Coastland Times; Luke Halton, The OBX Way

The meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m. The Board then recited the pledge of allegiance, followed by a moment of silence.

The Clerk swore in the following Dare County Tourism Board Appointees:

Tod Clissold, Town of Manteo Tonia Cohen, Outer Banks Hotel/Motel Association Richard Hess, Outer Banks Chamber of Commerce Leo Holland, Town of Southern Shores Dennis Robinson, Member-at-Large, Hatteras Island

ELECTION OF OFFICERS: Jay Wheless, Legal Counsel, presented the Nominating Committee's recommendation for Chair, Tim Cafferty. Legal Counsel called for nominations from the floor. Hearing none, Mr. Holland moved to elect Tim Cafferty as Chairman. Second by Mr. Hines. The motion passed unanimously (11-0).

Legal Counsel then turned the meeting over to the Chair.

The Chair presented the Nominating Committee's recommendation for Vice Chair, Monica Thibodeau and called for nominations from the floor. Hearing none, Mr. Robinson moved to elect Monica Thibodeau as Vice Chair. Second by Mr. Hess. The motion passed unanimously (11-0).

The Chair presented the Nominating Committee's recommendation for Treasurer, Ervin Bateman and called for nominations from the floor. Hearing none, Mr. Hines moved to elect Ervin Bateman as Treasurer. Second by Mr. Holland. The motion passed unanimously (11-0).

ELECTION OF OFFICERS (continued): The Chair presented the Nominating Committee's recommendation for Assistant Treasurer, Ivy Ingram and called for nominations from the floor. Hearing none, Mr. Bateman moved to elect Ivy Ingram as Assistant Treasurer. Second by Mr. Berryman. The motion passed unanimously (11-0).

The Chair presented the Nominating Committee's recommendation for Secretary, David Hines and called for nominations from the floor. Hearing none, Mr. Holland moved to elect David Hines as Secretary. Second by Mr. Bateman. The motion passed unanimously (11-0).

APPROVAL OF AGENDA: Ms. Ingram moved to approve the agenda. Second by Mr. Bateman. There was no discussion. The motion passed unanimously (11-0).

APPROVAL OF MINUTES: Mr. Holland moved to approve the meeting minutes from December 15, 2022 meeting. Second by Mr. Hess. There was no discussion. The motion passed unanimously (11-0).

PUBLIC COMMENTS: There were no public comments made. No written comments were received.

BUDGET AND FINANCE REPORT: Mr. Bateman reviewed the meals and occupancy receipts received. Receipts for fiscal year 2022-2023 are up 7.27% compared to 2021-2022 actual receipts.

OUTER BANKS VISITORS BUREAU UPDATES: Lee Nettles:

- Noted the upcoming Town Halls for the Long-Range Tourism Management Plan
- Noted the upcoming VisitNC State Tourism Conference
- Reviewed the marketing dashboard and visitation reports
- Presentation on the Event Center progress (presentation on file)

Lorrie Love reviewed upcoming group tradeshows and events held at the Soundside Event Site.

Aaron Tuell noted media efforts promoting the Outer Banks.

OLD BUSINESS: There was no old business before the Board.

NEW BUSINESS: There was no new business before the Board.

BOARD MEMBER COMMENTS: The Chair and Board members welcomed the new members.

Mr. Holland gave an update on Beach Nourishment in Southern Shores and noted that Kitty Hawk Elementary School approached the Town about upgrading the playground at the school to be inclusive and accessible to students and visitors.

Mr. Hines noted progress on the new public safety building in Kitty Hawk.

Mr. Hess noted the Chamber's continued work on addressing essential/workforce housing.

Ms. Cohen noted the decline in the number of J-1 students and how that will impact staffing at area businesses. Mr. Ballog echoed these concerns.

Ms. Ingram noted progress on the sidewalk in front of the Wright Brothers National Memorial.

SET DATE, TIME, AND PLACE OF NEXT MEETING:

- The Board set their meeting schedule for the third Thursday of each month at 9 a.m. in Curtis Creech Memorial Boardroom, Outer Banks Visitors Bureau Administrative Office, Manteo, NC
- The next meeting is scheduled for Thursday, February 16, 2023 at 9:00 a.m. in Curtis Creech Memorial Boardroom, Outer Banks Visitors Bureau Administrative Office, Manteo, NC.

The Chair asked if there was any further business before the Board. Hearing none, the Chair adjourned the meeting at 10:10 a.m.

ATTESTED:

Clerk, Dare County Tourism Board