

Sunshine Coast Tourism Annual General Meeting DRAFT Meeting Minutes

Gibsons & Area Community Centre Thursday, December 7, 2023

Attendees:

Board Members: Jack Barr, Gary Bearchell, John Hermsen, Shangxuan Ma, Jamie Mani, Heather Newman, Gina Ray, Chris Tait, Linda Williams (9)

Voting Stakeholders:

Yash Bareria, Haida Bolton, Sylvie Bruce, Cindy Buis, Candace Campo, Patrick Connelly, Emily Cook, Nancy Cottingham Powell, Lili De Capite, Rio De Capite, Rob Donald, Jessica Dunn, Fadi Eid, Maureen Evickson, Kyle Gray, Sherri Halliday, Rusty Hardley, Charles Hardy, Edith Jakobs, Qaid Jivan, Denise Kelly, Ray Konrad, Danise Lofstrom, Marlene Lowden, Bhavya Mandloi, Pamela McGarel, Jock McLauchlan, Dan McVeigh, Nicol Mentis, Christie Mitchell, Heidi Murphy, Bob Newman, Chris Nicholls, Jeanette Panagapka, Donna Patrick, Katherine Patterson, Nicole Petersen, Jimmy Porter, Martin Prestage, Kat Richards, Celia Robben, Kim Scarrow, Fiona Scott, Colin Stansfield, Eagle Walz, Linda Williams (46)

Non-Voting Stakeholders, Elected Officials and Guests:

Director Kelly Backs (SCRD), Councillor David Croal (Gibsons), Maria Danysh, Councillor Annemarie De Andrade (Gibsons), Director Donna McMahon (SCRD), Director Justine Gabias (SCRD), Baley Gagne-Nelson, Sebastien Laroye, Willie Lewis, Darnelda Siegers, Jane Stark, Mary Thomson, Mayor Silas White (Gibsons), Mathew Wilson (14)

Staff Members: Annie Wise, Andrea Wickham-Foxwell, Crystal Solberg, Paul Kamon, Tammy Gibson, Wendy Wright, Janice Caine, Debra James, Corinne Stones, Patsy Baker (10)

1) CALL TO ORDER: 6:22 pm, by Jack Barr, Past President

	moved by Linda Williams seconded by Gina Ray THAT the Annual General Meeting Agenda of December 8, 2023 be adopted.
--	--

2) APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA:



<u>CARRIED</u>

3) ADOPTION OF THE MINUTES FROM THE 2021 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING:

It was:	moved by Martin Prestage seconded by Shangxuan Ma THAT the Annual General Meeting Minutes, dated November 9, 2022, be adopted as presented <u>CARRIED</u>

4) FINANCIAL REPORT - Jack Barr, President

a) Jack Barr presented the draft Year-End Financial Statements for the 2022/2023

fiscal year, running May 1, 2022, to April 30, 2023.

It was:	moved by Gina Ray Seconded by John Hermsen
	THAT the Financial Report be adopted as presented. CARRIED

- 5) BOARD OF DIRECTOR NOMINATIONS Jack Barr, Past President, thanked the 6 Board Members who have completed their 2-year terms of service and their positions are up for election this year.
 - J.L (Jack) Barr, Powell River Town Centre Hotel / Beach Gardens Resort, Large Accommodations North
 - Shangxuan Ma, Gibsons Garden Hotel, Large Accommodations South
 - John Hermsen, Footprint Nature Explorations, Member at Large North
 - Gary Bearchell, Cabins on the Coast, Small Accommodations, RV Parks, Marinas, and Campgrounds
 - Theressa Logan, Sunshine Coast Air, Recreation Representative
 - Linda Williams, Coast Cultural Alliance, Arts, Culture, and Heritage



The following 5

Directors have served 1-

year of their 2-year terms and will therefore continue another year:

- Christine Hollmann, Terracentric Coastal Adventures, Member at Large North Coast
- Heather Newman, Treasurer, Pointhouse Suites on Sargeant Bay, Large Accommodation South Coast
- Jamie Mani, Alpha Adventures, Member at Large South Coast
- Chris Tait, Klahoose Wilderness Resort, Large Accommodation North Coast
- Gina Ray, Tapworks Brewing Company, Member at Large South Coast

The following 6 positions are open to nominations and will be elected to 2-year terms, with nominees named as follows:

- 1 x Large Accommodations North Representative
- 1 x Large Accommodations South Representative
- 1 x Member at Large North Representative
- 1 x Small Accommodations, RV Parks, Marinas, and Campgrounds Representative
- 1 x Recreation Representative
- 1 x Arts, Culture, and Heritage Representative

The nominees were presented for election as follows:

- 1 x Large Accommodations North Representative
 - Jack Barr, Powell River Town Centre Hotel / Beach Gardens Resort
- 1 x Large Accommodations South Representative
 - Shangxuan Ma, Gibsons Garden Hotel
- 1 x Member at Large North Representative
 - John Hermsen, Footprint Nature Explorations
- 1 x Small Accommodations, RV Parks, Marinas, and Campgrounds Representative
 - Gary Bearchell, Cabins on the Coast



Katherine Patterson,

0

Seaview Getaway

- 1 x Recreation Representative
 - Theressa Logan, Sunshine Coast Air
- 1 x Arts, Culture, and Heritage Representative
 - Linda Williams, Coast Cultural Alliance

An additional three calls for nominations from the floor for each of the open Director positions were made. Yash Bareria of Evergreen Hospitality Group (which represents The Oceanside Coast Hotel, The Spot at Porpoise Bay, and Rockwater Secret Cove Resort) was nominated from the floor for the Large Accommodations - South Director position.

After the voting process, the following members were elected to new 2-year terms of service on the Board of Directors:

- 1 x Large Accommodations South Representative
 - Shangxuan Ma, Gibsons Garden Hotel
- 1 x Small Accommodations, RV Parks, Marinas, and Campgrounds

Representative

• Gary Bearchell, Cabins on the Coast

The remaining nominated Directors were elected by acclamation.

6) MEETING ADJOURNMENT

It was:	moved by Linda Williams seconded by Gary Bearchell THAT the Annual General Meeting has been adjourned at 6:45 pm. <u>CARRIED</u>
---------	--