

Swain County Tourism Development Authority Board of Directors Meeting Minutes 09-21-2022 Emergency Meeting

Present (Voting):	Jeremiah Wiggins, Chairman, Andy Bhakta, Shannon Lackey, Erin Smith, PattiJo Taylor, Cheryl Taylor, Eugene Shuler, Afton Roberts
Absent (Voting):	Janene Lancaster
Present (Ex-Officio)	None
Absent (Ex-Officio):	Cally Elliott, Swain County Finance Officer, Kevin King, Swain County Manager
TDA Staff:	Mary Anne Shea, Rita Jones
Attendees:	None

The meeting was called to order by Chair Wiggins at 9:03am. via Zoom. The purpose of the meeting was to review the termination clause as requested at the 9/20 emergency meeting. Chair Wiggins made a motion to approve the contract as revised. (The revision included the Flop Clause and the 5000 minimum vehicles in attendance which was requested at the 9/20/22 board meeting) Erin Smith seconded the motion.

Those For: Jeremiah Wiggins, Erin Smith, Eugene Shuler

Those Against: Andy Bhakta, Shannon Lackey, Cheryl Taylor and PattiJo Taylor

Motion does not pass.

Board members asked for a copy of the Shadrack contract so they could read the entire document. Mary Anne said she would send it to the board members to review immediately.

Chair Wiggins made a motion to recess the meeting so board members could review the entire contract at 9:47am. Meeting scheduled to reconvene at 4:00 p.m. on 09-21-2022 so members could review the contract. Seconded by Cheryl Taylor and PattiJo Taylor.

Chair Wiggins called reconvened the meeting at 4:03 p.m. Present: Jeremiah Wiggins, Chairman, Andy Bhakta, Shannon Lackey, Erin Smith, Janene Lancaster. Eugene Shuler, Cheryl Taylor, PattiJo Taylor, Kevin King, County Manager. Absent: Afton Roberts

The board discussed other aspects of the contract regarding parking of the trailers at the event park when not in use. Also, insurance on these trailers.

Shannon Lackey made a motion to table this discussion until January 2023. Eugene Shuler seconded the motion.

Voting for the motion: Shannon Lackey, Eugene Shuler, Andy Bhakta, PattiJo Taylor, Cheryl Taylor

Against: Jeremiah Wiggins, Erin Smith, Janene Lancaster



Janene Lancaster then made a motion to move forward with signing the Shadrack contract between the TDA and Shadrack for this year 2022. Erin Smith seconded the motion.

For Contract: Janene Lancaster, Erin Smith, Jeremiah Wiggins

Against Contract: Andy Bhakta, Shannon Lackey, Eugene Shuler, Cheryl Taylor, PattiJo Taylor

Motion doesn't carry.

Chair Wiggins made a motion to adjourn the meeting. PattiJo Taylor seconded the motion.

Meeting adjourned at 4:48 a.m.

Board Member Signatures:

Chair Jeremiah Wiggins
Andy Bhakta
Afton Roberts
Shannon Lackey
lanene Lancaster
Eugene Shuler
Erin Smith
Cheryl Taylor
PattiJo Taylor