

## Swain County Tourism Development Authority Board of Directors Meeting Minutes 09-23-2022 Emergency Meeting

Present (Voting): Jeremiah Wiggins, Chairman, Andy Bhakta, Shannon Lackey, Janene Lancaster, Erin

Smith, Eugene Shuler, Cheryl Taylor, PattiJo Taylor, Afton Roberts

Absent (Voting): None

Present (Ex-Officio) Cally Elliott, Swain County Finance Officer, Kevin King, County Manager

Absent (Ex-Officio): None

TDA Staff: Mary Anne Shea, Rita Jones

Attendees: None

The meeting was called to order by Chair Wiggins at 11:05 a.m. The purpose of this meeting was to consider funding for a County-Operated Shadrack Light Show

Kevin King, County Manager opened the discussion that the county would sign the Shadrack's contract and be the responsible party to manage this event in Swain County. The Swain County Commissioners had expressed to him that this event would be a great asset for our Christmas season.

Kevin had arranged that County Employee Melissa Barker would oversee the event. Fifty percent of ticket sales would go to the non-profit running the show each night, thirty percent to CORE, and twenty percent to the Family Resource Center, thereby funding non-profits in Swain County.

Kevin proposed that the TDA would be the sponsor for the event by providing funding, and the county will manage the event.

Chair Wiggins made a motion to approve \$210,000.00 to execute this contract between the county and Shadrack, adding that the TDA will pay \$150,000 directly to Shadrack and provide up to \$60,000 to Swain County for electricity, gravel, and other incidentals to prepare for the event. These funds are provided within the 2022-23 TDA budget. Erin Smith seconded the motion. Board discussion followed.

For: Jeremiah Wiggins, Erin Smith, Eugene Shuler, Janene Lancaster, Andy Bhakta, Afton Roberts

Against: Shannon Lackey, Cheryl Taylor, PattiJo Taylor

Motion Passed.

Chair Wiggins made a motion to adjourn the meeting. PattiJo Taylor seconded the motion. All in favor.

Meeting adjourned at 11:51 a.m.



Board Member Signatures:
Chair Jeremiah Wiggins
Andy Bhakta
Afton Roberts
Shannon Lackey
Janene Lancaster
Eugene Shuler
Erin Smith
Cheryl Taylor
PattiJo Taylor