

State of Wisconsin

Tony Evers, Governor

Ben Popp, Chair

# Wisconsin Council on Tourism Minutes Wednesday, May 12, 2021 Teleconference

### I. Council Roll Call

PRESENT: Acting Secretary Anne Sayers, Deb Archer, Darren Bush, Dr. Robert Davis, A.J. Frels, Nathan Gordon, Kathy Kopp, Michelle Martin, Mary McPhetridge, Ben Popp, Missy Tracy, Krystal Westfahl, Christian Overland, Senator Joan Ballweg, Senator Jeff Smith, Representative Shelia Stubbs, Representative Travis Tranel, George Tzougros

EXCUSED: Deborah Carey, Genyne Edwards, Luke Zahm

## II. Call Meeting to Order and Welcome

Ben Popp called the meeting to order at 11:00AM.

III. Review of Public-meeting law requirements, and scope of the Council's statutory role; by DOA Legal Counsel

DOA Legal Counsel Mike Van Sicklen discussed the Council's open meeting policies, noting the improved open meetings internal process by Department staff and the need to properly include discussion items of substance on meeting agendas that could result in a motion or action. Advice was also given on how to move forward to advocate for the Historical Society, highlighting that the scope of the Council and their role as an advisory body is to advice the Department and the Secretary of the Department.

#### IV. Approval of October 27, 2020 Minutes

Deb Archer made the motion to approve the October 27, 2020 minutes. A.J. Frels seconded the motion. There was no further discussion. Motion carried.

#### V. Discussion of Committee Report Outs

Committee members discussed a distributed memo highlighting the recent work of the Council's committees. Committee members were thanked for their committee participation and were encouraged to participate in a committee if they are not already doing so. Committees operate in support of the Strategic Plan's imperative to engage partners across the state in shared goal and vision.

#### VI. Election of Officers, by oral rollcall

Mary McPhetridge provided a review of the election process as established by Council bylaws. Nominations submitted ahead of time as allowed in Article IV, Section 5 of the bylaws were included in the vote. All members of the Council were able to make nominations. Voting was held by oral roll call voice vote.

Election of Council Chair:



# State of Wisconsin

#### Tony Evers, Governor

Ben Popp, Chair

Mary McPhetridge read the pre submitted nomination of Ben Pop as nominated by A.J. Frels and seconded by Michelle Martin. There were no further nominations from the floor. Ben Popp received 17 votes and was elected as Chair.

#### Election of Vice Chair:

Mary McPhetridge read the pre submitted nomination of A.J. Frels as nominated by Ben Popp and seconded by Michelle Martin. There were no further nominations from the floor. A.J. Frels received 17 votes and was elected as Vice Chair.

## Election of Secretary:

Mary McPhetridge read the pre submitted nomination of herself, Mary McPhetridge as nominated by Ben Popp and seconded by Michelle Martin. There were no further nominations from the floor. Mary McPhetridge received 17 votes and was elected as Secretary.

## VII. Wisconsin Historical Society sites

Wisconsin Historical Society (WHS) Executive Director Christian Overland shared background on the current closings of WHS sites. Overland shared that due to a shortfall of revenue, numerous sites would remain closed temporarily. The WHS applied for American Cares Act money for which they did not successfully receive. Overland noted that the Governor's Office and members of the legislature have been made aware of the WHS revenue loss data, site closures and recovery efforts at the WHS. The WHS is working with the Governors' office to advocate for American Recovery funds.

The scope of authority of the Council will be looked at under further legal review and an update will be provided to Council members at or before the next meeting.

#### **VIII. Next Meeting Topics**

Acting Secretary Sayers proposed that the Council get on cadence with the Department's marketing campaigns, allowing for more of a voice in the Department's marketing efforts. The Council will look to convene in late summer to review the summer campaign and again in late fall to review the fall campaign and preview winter 21/22.

#### IX. Adjournment

George Tzougros made a motion to adjourn. Deb Archer seconded the motion. Motion passed. Meeting adjourned at 12:12PM.

Respectfully Submitted by Mary McPhetridge, Secretary Approved by Ben Popp, Chair